Most Successful Captains in PSL

Top 10 Most Successful Captains in the History of PSL

With the launch of the Pakistan Super League in 2016, we have witnessed awe-inspiring talent from the players, particularly their ever-improving leadership abilities. Every captain attempted to extend the team’s winning streak. This rivalry can also be seen in the PSL, where 29 captains have guided different franchises to victory over the past eight seasons. Let’s examine the list of the most successful PSL captains with the most wins in the Pakistan Super League.


Captain Year Team Matches Won Lost Tied N/R Win/Lose
Sarfaraz Ahmed 2016-2023 QG 73 36 35 0 1 1.028
Darren Sammy 2017-2020 PZ 39 22 16 0 1 1.375
Imad Wasim 2018-2023 KK 42 20 18 2 2 1.111
Mohammad Rizwan 2021-2023 MS 26 17 8 0 0 2.125
Shadab Khan 2019-2022 IU 32 17 15 0 0 1.133
Misbah-ul-Haq 2016-2018 IU 26 15 10 1 0 1.5
Wahab Riaz 2020-2022 PZ 28 13 14 1 0 0.928
Sohail Akhtar 2020-2021 LQ 23 12 11 0 0 1.09
Shoaib Malik 2016-2022 KK, PZ, MS 30 10 19 0 1 0.526
Shaheen Shah Afridi 2022-2023 LQ 14 9 4 1 0 2.25
Shahid Afridi 2016-2016 PZ 10 6 4 0 0 1.5
Shan Masood 2020-2020 MS 11 6 3 1 1 2
Brendon McCullum 2017-2018 LQ 18 5 11 2 0 0.454
Kumar Sangakkara 2017-2017 KK 10 5 5 0 0 1
Mohammad Sami 2019-2019 IU 9 4 5 0 0 0.8



1). Sarfaraz Ahmad – 36 Wins

Quetta Gladiator skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed is one of the most successful captains in PSL history. He leads the squad in 72 matches, of which the Gladiators have won 36. Under the captaincy of Sarfraz, Quetta’s winning percentage is 50.7%. From the inaugural PSL season, he has led Quetta as captain.

Sarfaraz Ahmad enabled Quetta to compete in three PSL Finals (2016, 207, and 2019). However, Quetta only won one PSL championship in 2019. Sarfaraz Ahmad is the generation’s pioneering captain. Numerous great PSL franchise captains, like Babar Azam, Imad Wasim, Shadan Khan, and Shaheen Afridi, played under his supervision.


2). Darren Sammay – 22 Wins

From 2017 to 2019, Darren Sammy captained Peshawar Zalcil for three seasons. He won 22 of 39 games for Zalmi while losing only 16. During his tenure, Peshawar Zalmi appeared in three straight finals and won their lone PSL championship in 2017. He is one of the most remarkable individuals in the PSL, and Zalmi supporters hold him in high regard. The CEO of Zalmi has a close relationship with him, which is why he was chosen as a mentor in PSL 2023.


3). Imad Wasim – 15 Wins

Imad Wasim is the most underestimated captain in the Pakistan Super League. From 2019 until 2023, he captained Karachi and helped them win their first PSL championship. After winning the title for Babar Azam, he stepped down as captain, but KK suffered a crushing defeat in PSL 2022. Imad Wasim captained Karachi Kings in 42 PSL matches, winning 20 and losing 18. When Babar joined Peshawar Zalmi, KK reinstated him as captain.


4). Muhammad Rizwan – 17 Wins

In this race, Muhammad Rizwan emerged fairly quickly. Since 2021, he has served as captain of Multan Sultans. Multan began their voyage far later than other teams. In the first season, they selected Shan Masood as their captain, but after observing Riwan’s prowess in domestic competitions, they decided to promote him to the position. Muhammad Rizwan captained Multan Sultans in 26 PSL matches, winning 17 and losing 7. His 65 percent victory rate is the greatest in the PSL.


5). Shadab Khan – 17 wins

With Misbah ul Haq’s retirement, Shadab Khan assumed the role of captain. From 2019 to 2019, he captained Indiana University in 32 games, winning 17 and losing 15. Shadab’s leadership is ineffective since Islamabad United has never reached the championship match. But you cannot ignore him; Islamabad has become one of the most devastating teams in the PSL in recent years, and supporters believe IU will win this season.


6). Misbah-ul-Haq – 15 wins

Misbah-ul-Haq is recognized for his composure on the pitch. Before his retirement, his composure made him the most successful PSL captain. He is the first captain to win the PSL championship. Misbah guided IU to 15 victories in 26 games from 2016 to 2018. He lost 10 matches, with one match ending in a tie.


7). Wahab Riaz – 13 wins

In this list, Wahab Riaz is the first true bowler. With Darren Sammy’s departure, he became captain of PZ. He was under intense pressure to maintain Sammay’s reputation and make Peshawar one of the tournament’s most famous teams. Wahab Riaz led PZ from 2020 to 2022 for three seasons. He captained PZ for 28 games, winning 13 and losing 14. In 2021, Zalmi participated in only one final and lost to MS.


8). Sohail Akhtar – 12 wins

Most people would be shocked to see Sohail Akhter’s name on this list, given that he has played a few matches for Pakistan. From 2018 to 2020, he led Lahore Qalandars for two seasons. Lahore Qalandars made their debut in PSl 2020 under his leadership but lost to Karachi Kings. Sohail Akhtar led Lahore in 23 contests, winning 12 and losing 11. Amazingly, his winning percentage is greater than fifty percent.


9). Shoaib Malik – 10 wins

He is the player with the greatest experience and the only player in the PSL who began his cricketing career in the previous century. Shoaib Malik captained three PSL teams for thirty matches. From 2016 through 2022, he will head Multan Sultans, Karachi Kings, and Peshawar Zalmi. His victory percentage of 33% is extremely dismal. He only won 10 games and lost nineteen.


10). Shaheen Shah Afridi – 9 wins

Shaheen Shah’s aggressive beginning overs are well-known. In his first season as captain, he led Lahore Qalandars to their first championship. Shaheen Afridi led LQ in 14 matches, winning nine and losing only four. He is young and has a prosperous future ahead of him. Supporters feel that he will become the next successful PSL captain.